On Saturday, October 5, a hit-and-run car accident took the life of an individual in Crosby, Texas.
Details Regarding the Incident
The incident occurred around 4 a.m. near Highway 90, just north of FM-2100. The driver who failed to render aid fled the scene was driving a Chevy Silverado. Unfortunately, the victim of the accident passed away soon after.
Fleeing the scene of the car accident is more common than you think. When an individual is involved in a wreck, fear can compel them to evade the consequences of the accident. However, just because you’ve been involved in a hit-and-run accident doesn’t mean that you have no chance of seeking compensation for the injuries you sustained.
Hit-and-Run Crash Statistics
In a span of 10 years, one-fifth of all pedestrian deaths were the result of a hit-and-run incident. When put into perspective, one or more hit-and-run accidents happen per minute in the United States. By 2016, a total of 2,049 individuals passed away across the nation as a result of this type of accident, according to the American Automobile Association (AAA).
The Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) stated in a report that in 2018, 3,639 deaths by motor vehicle traffic crashes occurred in the state of Texas. Texas also came in 5th amongst the top ten states ranked for the highest number of hit-and-run fatalities in America. These fatalities occur at a rate of approximately 1.19 deaths per 100,000 individuals.
In the same report, there were 621 pedestrian fatalities in the state during that same year. Approximately 72 pedalcyclists also died in related crashes. These numbers are significant in that pedestrians account for the majority of individuals who are killed by a hit-and-run crash.
Research reveals that 20 percent of pedestrian fatalities are the result of such kind of accidents. Bicyclists and motorcyclists are also more vulnerable in crashes, due to the lack of exterior vehicle protection. These individuals are exposed to the dangers of hit-and-runs and even more so if left unattended at the scene.
Consequences of a Hit-and-Run Crash
Individuals who evade the scene of the crash can be subject to varying punishments. Penalty fees, license suspension, and jail time can all result depending on if a vehicle, person, or property was hit.
The following are the punishments for the various hit-and-run scenarios:
1. An accident with an occupied vehicle:
a. Class C misdemeanor, punishable with a fine up to $500 for fleeing the scene.
b. Class B misdemeanor with additional fines and county jail time for up to 6 months if property damage exceeds $200.
2. An accident with an unattended vehicle:
a. This scenario produces the same results that striking occupied vehicles would. If one were to strike an unoccupied vehicle, a note must be left behind on an easily-visible area of the car.
3. An accident resulting in personal injury:
a. Up to 5 years in state jail or 1 year in county jail.
b. A maximum fine up to $5,000.
4. An accident with serious injury or death:
a. 3rd-degree felony for accidents in which serious injury, physical pain, illness, or any impairment of physical condition occurred.
b. 2nd-degree felony and punishable up to 20 years, and up to a $5000 fine if death occurs. (Equivalent to the penalty for manslaughter).
To best avoid unnecessary repercussions, one should assist the scene even if they are not insured or are culpable in some fashion. Hit-and-run accidents weigh hard on victims, but fleeing the scene only makes matters worse.
Seek the Loyal Houston Hit-and-Run Accident Attorneys of Lapeze & Johns
Accidents occur beyond our control, but it is the ethical and legal duty of all Texas drivers to stop and assist an accident they were involved in. Property damage, physical injury, and death are all possible outcomes of a collision. These damages can result in an economic burden for a victim who must face the expenses alone.
If you happen to be involved in a crash, never flee the scene. Follow the listed steps below to help those injured in a hit-and-run accident recover as best they can:
- Call 911 if anyone has suffered injuries.
- Never leave the injured person unattended.
- Be aware of other drivers and move the vehicles out of the path of others.
- Use flares, hazard flashers, and reflective triangles to signal other drivers.
- Call the police and file a report.
- Get in contact with your auto insurance company.
Drivers should always be more vigilant of pedestrians in congested areas and give the right-of-way. In some instances, pedestrian crossings can be unpredictable. Nevertheless, one should stop to render aid if any accident should occur.
If you or a loved one is a victim of a hit-and-run accident, you may qualify to file a personal injury claim. Contact the trustworthy Houston car accident attorneys of Lapeze & Johns by calling 713-766-0075 now.